January 14 – Paul Simon, Bowie ‘Low’, Madonna ‘Holiday’, What I Am

1972

US singer/songwriter Paul Simon‘s debut solo album is released.
 
Side 1 begins with reggae-influenced ‘Mother and Child Reunion‘ — how can it be only a motion away? ▷Songfacts▹  —  and Side 2 with Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard (what did the Mama see?). ▷Songfacts▹

I’m on my way
I’m takin my time but I don’t know where
Good-bye to Rosie the Queen of Corona
See you, me and Julio down by the school yard

The album enjoys a top-5 reception from Japan to Norway. Simon’s sly mysteries, melodic gifts and rhythmic explorations continue to mark a long, welcome career. 2011 concert guest Rayna 

1977

Brit musican David Bowie releases Low (UK#2, US#11), the first album in his so-called Berlin Trilogy.
 
Bowie is living in West Berlin at the time; the trilogy is created with the help of Brian Eno and is produced by Tony Visconti. Visconti treated the drum sounds with an Eventide Harmonizer (also heard on 1975 Bowie single Young Americans) Sound and Vision 
 
The other two albums are “Heroes” and Lodger. All three are international top-20s (but not in Germany!). Phillip Glass‘ 1992 album Symphony No. 1 is based on Low.
 MeFi:Bowie Doing Normal Stuff

1984

Singer Madonna (*) performs her first top-20 hit single Holiday on American Bandstand. (*)

You can turn this world around
And bring back all of those happy days
Put your troubles down
It’s time to celebrate
Let love shine
And we will find
A way to come together  ~ Lyrics  

Asked by host Dick Clark (*) what her plans are, she answers ‘To rule the world!’

1989

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians single What I Am enters the top-40 charts, to reach US#7, UK#31.

Philosophy, is the talk on a cereal box
Religion, is a smile on a dog
I’m not aware of too many things
i know what I know if you know what I mean

Chuck me in the shallow water
Before I get too deep  ~ Lyrics  

It’s ranked #77 on VH1’s list (*) of The 100 Greatest One-Hit Wonders. Edie eventually marries Paul Simon, who managed a couple of hits himself.  ( Website  ~ New Bohemians Live at archive.org