August 22 – Bread: Making it, Cosmo’s Factory

1970


On the Waters

US ‘soft-rock’ band Bread tops the US Hot 100 with Make It With You.

Life can be short or long
Love can be right or wrong
And if I chose the one I’d like to help me through
I’d like to make it with youI really think that we can make it, girl

Lead singer David Gates had his first big hit when his 1963 composition Popsicles and Icicles, performed by teenaged girls The Murmaids, hits US#3. They’ll never see a cent for it.

1970

California roots-rock behemoth Creedence Clearwater Revival, fronted by singer-songwriter John Fogarty, explodes to #1 for 9 weeks – even in the stubborn UK – with album ‘Cosmo’s Factory‘.

The track Lookin’ out My Back Door, released as a single on July 25 (backed with Long As I Can See the Light), climbs to US#2. Lookin’  Light 

